





MINUTES

ALL-PARTY GROUP on CLIMATE ACTION 6th October 2023 | 12noon – 1pm

At: Virtual

In Attendance: John Blair MLA, Michelle McIlveen MLA, Sian Mulholland MLA, Steve Aiken MLA, Danny Donnelly MLA, Patrick Brown MLA, Stewart Dickson MLA, Andrew Muir MLA. Cllr Caitlin Deeney, Cllr Kurtis Dickson.

Apologies: Harry Harvey MLA, Kate Nicholl MLA, John Stewart MLA, Gerry Carroll MLA, Eoin Tennyson MLA.

Cllr Terry Andrews, Cllr Rachel Woods, Cllr Gary McKeown.

36 observers were in attendance.

Item 1

John Blair introduced himself as chair of today's meeting in the absence of both the Chair and Vice Chair who were unable to attend. Elected representatives gave a brief round of introductions and all new members were welcomed.

Item 2

- It was noted that the minutes of the previous meeting were not attached in the meeting pack and these would be included for the next meeting for approval.
- There were no matters arising

Item 3

JB welcomed Jane Corderoy: Director Climate Change & Green Growth Policy to give a presentation over of the works ongoing to implement the NI Climate Change Act. This was a comprehensive presentation outlining the challenging pathways that lay ahead for the rapid and deep transition. Topics covered included the current Carbon Budget consultation & UKCCC advice, Climate Action Plan's, NI Climate Change Adaptation Programme, Public Body Reporting, Just Transition Commission. A full version is available to watch back along with previous APG meetings: https://www.sustainableni.org/all-party-group-climateaction-meetings-and-minutes

Item 4

Ciaran Ferrin was unable to attend the meeting and it was noted that hosting the One Young World conference in Belfast had been a fantastic achievement and the APG looked forward to engaging with participants at a later date.

Item 5

- Members were advised to contact <u>clarebailey@sustainableni.org</u> if they wanted invite details to the QUB events.

Item 6

- The meeting moved into the formal AGM proceedings. All non-elected observers were asked to turn off their camera's and were welcome to stay listening in.
- JB asked for nominations to the position of chair. Andrew Muir proposed Danny Donnelly and was Seconded by Sian Mulholland. No other nominations were received. DD accepted.
- JB asked for nominations to the position of vice-chair. Michelle McIlveen proposed Steve Aiken and this was seconded by Andrew Muir. No other nominations were received. Steve Aiken accepted.
- JB asked for nominations to the position of Secretary. Andrew Muir proposed Michelle McIlveen and this was seconded by John Blair. No other nominations were received. Michelle McIlveen accepted.
- It was noted there was no change to the Terms of Reference and members were content.
- The incoming Chair and Secretariat agreed to meet and plan ahead for the next round of meetings.

JB drew the meeting to a close and thanked everyone for attending.