Terms of Reference – APG on Climate Action

Group name	All Party Group on Climate Action	
Chair	Kate Nicholl MLA	Alliance Party
Vice-Chair	Eoin Tennyson MLA	Alliance Party
Secretary	Harry Harvey MLA	Democratic Unionist Party
Members	Paula Bradshaw MLA	Alliance Party
	Andrew Muir MLA	Alliance Party
	Nuala McAllister MLA	Alliance Party
	John Blair MLA	Alliance Party
	Danny Donnelly MLA	Alliance Party
	Peter McReynolds MLA	Alliance Party
	Kellie Armstrong MLA	Alliance Party
	Steve Aiken MLA	Ulster Unionist Party
	Cara Hunter MLA	Social Democratic and Labour Party
	Philip McGuigan MLA	Sinn Féin
	Cllr Billy Webb (Antrim and Newtownabbey)	Alliance Party
	Cllr Roisin Lynch (Antrim and Newtownabbey)	Social Democratic and Labour Party
	Cllr Rachel Woods (Ards and North Down)	Green Party NI
	Cllr Eddie Thompson (Ards and North Down)	Democratic Unionist Party
	Cllr Debbie Coyle (Fermanagh and Omagh)	Sinn Féin
	Cllr Robert Irvine (Fermanagh and Omagh)	Ulster Unionist Party
	Cllr Martin Gregg (Lisburn and Castlereagh)	Alliance Party
	Alderman Michael Henderson (Lisburn and Castlereagh)	Ulster Unionist Party
	Cllr Simon Lee (Lisburn and Castlereagh)	Green Party NI
	Cllr William Clarke (Newry, Mourne and Down)	Sinn Féin
	Cllr Terry Andrews (Newry, Mourne and Down)	Social Democratic and Labour Party
	Cllr Christopher Jackson (Derry City and Strabane District Council)	Sinn Féin
	Cllr Maeve O'Neill (Derry City and Strabane District Council)	People Before Profit Alliance
	Cllr Brian Smyth (Belfast City Council)	Green Party NI
	Cllr Greg McKeen (Mid and East Antrim Borough Council)	Democratic Unionist Party
	Alderman Gordon Kennedy (Armagh Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council)	UUP
	Cllr Paul Greenfield (Armagh Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council)	DUP
	Cllr Anne Forde (Mid Ulster District Council)	Democratic Unionist Party
	Cllr Donal McPeake (Mid Ulster District Council)	Sinn Féin

Cllr Ciarán McQuillan (Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council)	Sinn Féin
Alderman Mark Fielding (Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council)	DUP
Purpose - to advance climate action through legislative and regulatory change in the Assembly and Executive.	
Mission - to put climate action and sustainability at the centre of political decision making in Northern Ireland.	
Function - to consider the potential implications of climate change for Northern Ireland and make recommendations to government on interventions to help Northern Ireland transition to a low-carbon, climate resilient economy.	
Specific functions include:	
Democratic Scrutiny: of central and local government input on climate action and sustainable development, and to influence regional policy approaches on these and related issues.	
Monitoring: the progress of central and local government on climate change and sustainable development approaches, including the role of arms-length bodies.	
Oversight: of coordination between local and central government and their partners on delivery of key climate and sustainability issues impacting on citizens, and over which councils and government can influence.	
Awareness : to ensure a shared understanding of key climate and sustainability issues and opportunities across all political parties, through the provision of independent information and best practice.	
Lobbying: for improvements in policy and for resources to deliver this agenda.	
Membership Membership of the Group will be cross party and include representatives from the NI Assembly (at least 10 MLAs and parties from all three designations) and elected members from local authorities.	
Frequency of meetings	

	The All Party Group will meet bi-monthly, usually held on the third Wednesday of the month at 1pm with an Annual General Meeting once per year. External Groups The Group will have a working relationship with other related All Party Groups, relevant boards, relevant council and departmental working groups, representative bodies, as well as energy and environmental organisations in the region. All members of the group will have speaking rights. Only MLAs will have voting rights, in accordance with the Rules of APGs.	
	Public observers may attend. Financial & Resource Implications There will be some ongoing support costs in relation to the Group, which will be covered through existing public body subscriptions to Sustainable Northern	
Secretariat	Ireland. Sustainable NI	

Scope

Policy Area	Lead
Climate Change & Sustainable Development	DAERA
Energy	Department for the Economy
Circular Economy	Department of Economy
Transport	Department for Infrastructure
Strategic & Regional Planning	Department for Infrastructure
Natural Environment (soil/water/air quality, biodiversity)	DAERA
Agriculture	DAERA
Waste	DEARA
Building Regulations & Energy Performance	Department of Finance
Green Finance	Department of Finance
Public Sector Procurement	Department of Finance
Domestic Energy Efficiency (Fuel Poverty)	Department for Communities
Community Development	Department for Communities
Education for Sustainable Development	Department of Education

Local Planning	Local Government