gmail circle icon, gmail icon, gradient icon, social media icon icon social media icons, twitter icon in, linked, social media icons icon

Local Government Awards - Deadline extended to 27 July!

The Local Government Awards Northern Ireland showcase brilliance in service provision, new initiatives and personal commitment from councils, councillors, staff and partners. The Awards offer public and peer recognition whilst motivating those delivering and sustaining front line and other key council services. The Awards will this year feature a new category which rewards Excellence in Environmental Sustainability, acknowledging the work councils are doing to demonstrate innovation, exceptional commitment and great work in the field of resource management and environmental stewardship.  

The Awards cover nine categories including:

  1. Best Local Authority Service Team (APSE) 
  2. Employee Of The Year (WJMT) 
  3. Best Enterprise Initiative by a Council  (Enterprise NI) 
  4. Best Local Authority Community Planning Initiative  (SOLACE NI)
  5. Best Local Authority Elected Member Development Initiative  (NILGA) 
  6. Best Initiative By A Councillor/ Councillor Group (NAC)
  7. Best Local Authority Tourism Initiative (Tourism NI) 
  8. Best Local Authority Sustainable Construction Project (QPANI)
  9. Excellence in Environmental Sustainability by a Local Authority (Sustainable NI) 














Nominees are judged by an independent panel. The finalists in each category will get an opportunity to go forward to the Gala Awards Recognition Evening as the culmination of NILGA’s Flagship Annual Conference, “Building Sustainable Communities, Delivering a Better Northern Ireland for Everyone”, at the Armagh City Hotel, Armagh, on Thursday 11th October 2018.   

Entry forms are available to download from the NILGA website. The deadline for completed applications is Friday 27th July 2018

More information: Mark Maher, NILGA, Tel. 028 9079 8972 Email: